Copy goes here

Introducing the Judges for the 38th AOP Photography Awards

“We’re absolutely euphoric about the selection of amazing judges we have lined-up for our 38th AOP Photography Awards. Our new approach has been to include both renowned photographers, from outside our membership, alongside some of the best names in the industry, from established commissioners to industry specialists, culminating in an incredible assemblage of over 25 judges for these Awards. With ten Awards categories, which includes ‘Spaces’ as a new category, and two shortlisted ‘Best In’ Awards, we’re anticipating the finest AOP Awards results to date, for both still images and motion.”

Isabelle Doran, CEO The Association of Photographers.

‘DIY SOS’ interior designer and Sport England board member among 38th AOP ‘Oscars’ Awards judges

Julia Kendell, experienced design professional best known for her appearances on BBC’s ‘DIY SOS’ and ITV’s ’60-Minute Makeover’, and Sport England board member Dr Rashmi Becker MBE, are among the prestigious judges announced to preside over the 38th Association of Photography (AOP) Awards this year, known as the ‘Oscars’ of the photography world.

Julia is one of the three judges of the AOP Awards’ new Spaces category, where interior spaces, built exteriors and locations are the primary focus of the image.  The other judges are Patricia Taylor, picture director Hearst Magazines (interiors portfolio), and architectural photographer Simon Kennedy.

Curator and editor of photography Zelda Cheatle will judge another new Award entitled Best of Personal/Non-Commissioned Work.

Judging the Sport category, Sport England’s Dr Rashmi Becker is also the founder of Step Change Studios, which provides opportunities for D/deaf and disabled people to dance.  Alongside her are judges Cathrine Wessel, Norweigan director and photographer, and Ronaldo Taveres, executive creative director at M&C Saatchi Sport & Entertainment.

British artist Nick Waplington, Eliza Williams, editor of Creative Review, and Adrian Evans, director of Panos Pictures, will judge the Project category, which represents a long-term photographic project on a singular subject that portrays a narrative, illustrated in a series of 10-20 images, or short form film.

Amy Grant, who is head of content and creative for Friends of the Earth, and Danish explorer, scientist, fellow at the Royal Geographical Society, multi award-winning photographer, filmmaker and creative director, Klaus Thymann, will judge the Environment category.

Photography and visuals lead at Comic Relief and creative director of photography at the BBC for many years Jason Baron, together with National Portrait Gallery curator Eva Eicker, social and cultural issues photography expert, and photographer Suki Dhanda, will judge the Portrait category.

The Food and Drink category will be judged by award-winning, influential, and internationally acclaimed photographer David Loftus, who has photographed for the books of Jamie Oliver, Rachel Khoo, Gennaro Contaldo, Elizabeth David and April Bloomfield.  The panel will also include Alex Durbridge, co-founder and creative director of F&f.

The Fashion and Beauty category will be judged by Rachell Smith, internationally renowned celebrity portrait and fashion photographer.

Photographer Robin Broadbent, and director of Aesthetica Magazine Cherie Frederico, will judge the Still Life and Object Category alongside Sarah Williams co-founder of Darklight Art.

Head of creative content and stories for Save the Children Ivy Lahon, Magnum Photos photographer Christopher Anderson, and Sarah Gilbert, features picture editor for Guardian News & Media, will judge the Documentary category.

Kirstie Johnstone, creative production partner at AMV BBDO and M&C Saatchi’s Louis Cubbon, will be on the judging panel for the Lifestyle category.

The AOP Awards are currently open to accredited photographer and assisting photographer members of the AOP, showcasing the very best professional talent in the industry.  The judging process will take place in May, with the finalists being announced by the beginning of June. 

Nominations for the Martin Evening Digital Retouching Excellence Award open on 20 March for three weeks, closing on 14 April.  Nominees will be invited to submit their entries by 12 May and the finalists will be announced week commencing 12 June.

All the winners will be announced at a live showcase event on 28 September at the Village Underground in Shoreditch, London.

AOP Photography Awards

The AOP Photography Awards are known as the ‘Oscars’ of the photography world. They celebrate excellence in the creative photography and image-making industry.
This is your chance to be seen by leading commissioners and names within the photographic industry. Our 38th AOP Awards finalists are now revealed…